30th Wedding Anniversary!

Bhojraj Bhatta
3 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Has it been really this long?

Simply grateful to God!

Has it been really this long?

No, it doesn’t feel that long. It seems as if yesterday we were busy in planning our wedding.

The funny thing about life is that at times it plays games with us. The year we were supposed to marry, ethnic/civil war broke out in Manipur. My would be wife was studying in Bangalore. I was teaching in a Bible School in Kathmandu. We could not travel to Manipur.

So we decided to get married in Kathmandu. Sadly, no family member from my wife’s side could come to Nepal for our wedding. As for my side, well that’s a long story for some other times.

I believe God also has a sense of humor; I think he likes to play a few tricks too.

The missionary pastor who invited me to pastor her church (she and the denominational superintendent were together when they made the offer to me) in Kathmandu appeared to have changed her mind about her offer just before our wedding. She did not say in words, but let me know by taking an abrupt leave (without telling me) from Kathmandu so that she could avoid our wedding. Nothing was planned for our wedding which was in about three days. We had no money, no wedding clothes, nothing at all! We were totally depending on her.

Well, God must be laughing at my naivety! Or, maybe he was teaching me lessons that would come handy in staying away from such commercial missionaries.

Somehow the superintendent of the denomination did agree to marry us, and we were married!

It was a cold day. My wife borrowed a wedding saree from a church member. An Australian sister was visiting the church at that time. She bought me a suit. That was a miracle in itself. Sadly she had a falling away with the missionary pastor, not sure if it was because of the suit she bought for me! It took me another six months to realize how foolish a decision I had made when I said “yes” to that offer.

As I am thinking about all these things surrounding our wedding, it really doesn’t feel like it was 30 years ago.

I think one of the reasons why it does not feel that long is; we have had a wonderful life together in these precious 30 years that we have left behind.

God’s amazing grace has beautifully led us along the way. There were hardships and difficulties of all kind. But we both put our hearts and heads together in seeking God’s grace in times of our need, and he has never disappointed us.

As we stand on the milestone of the 30th year, we are grateful to God for each other, for our children, for friends, for families and the ministry opportunities we have had.

Today, we are more excited to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary than we were on our wedding day! We can only imagine what God has in store for our future. Paul said “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and nor the mind of man has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him!”

Social media has also widened our horizon of life and ministry. We are grateful to each and every one of you who have prayed for us, supported us, and have simply appreciated the word we have put out there.

May the Lord bless you and give you a life full of wonderful memories!

Glory To God!!

--

--

Bhojraj Bhatta

Hindu by Birth. Christian by Choice. Nepalese by Citizenship. Writes About Life, Family, Bible, Church, Missions. Etc. http://youtube.com/brbhatta